Setting Up Your Calendar

How do I set the time zone for my calendar?

To change the default time zone and other settings, follow these steps:

  1. Access Google Calendar.
  2. In the upper right of the page, click Settings.
  3. On the General page, in the Language section, select a language.
  4. In the Country and Your current time zone sections, select the appropriate options.
  5. In the Date format section, select an option.
  6. In the Time format section, select an option.
  7. Click Save at the bottom of the page.

Does Google Calendar have event reminders?

Yes, by default, Google Calendar displays a pop-up reminder 10 minutes before an event. You change the reminder time by editing the settings for your calendar.

I set up event reminders, but I still don't see them. Why?

To receive event reminders, make sure your Calendar window is open.

Can I change the number of days that appear on my calendar?

Yes, you can specify a custom number of days. Click Settings in the upper-right corner of you Calendar window. On the General tab, select a number of days in the Custom view drop-down list.

Can I view the number of the week in my calendar ?

No, this view isn't available.

Can I show more than one time zone on my calendar?

Yes, you can view two time zones in Google Calendar. To add another time zone to your calendar view, click Settings. On the General tab, under Your current time zone, select another time zone in the Additional time zone list.

Calendar Sharing

What level of access to others have to my calendar? Are my calendar details public?

By default, your calendar is shared with everyone at [company name], and they can see your calendar's free/busy information only. However, you can turn off calendar sharing.

If you share your calendar with everyone at [company name], you can specify whether they can see only free/busy information or all event details. You can also share your calendar with specific people at [company name], and can give them one of the following levels of access:

  • See free/busy information only
  • See all event details
  • Make changes to your calendar
  • Make changes and share your calendar with others

If I want to access another employee's calendar, such as my manager, does that person need to give me permission?

Yes, if you want to access another employee's calendar, that person must give you permission, by editing the settings for the calendar.

If someone shares his or her calendar with me, can I receive notifications when attendees accept invitations to that person's events?

Yes, you can set up notifications for a shared calendar. However, by default, notifications are turned off. Here's how to turn them on:
  1. Access Google Calendar.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, click Settings.
  3. Click the Calendars tab.
  4. On the Calendars tab, click the Notifications link for the calendar.
  5. Choose the settings you want.
  6. Click Save.

If someone shares his or her calendar with me, can I hide the calendar?

Yes, you can hide the calendar by clicking it in your list of calendars on the left of your calendar view.