Keepit‎ > ‎

FAQ

Please contact your local Internet provider for support or more information about this service.

These are Frequently Asked Questions and Answers about our Online Backup and Recovery Service, powered by Keepit, an industry leader in data storage and recovery services.

........................................................................................................................................................................................................

How does the backup work?

 

When creating a backup of your files the program observes changes to your files and folders. This means that if you create a backup of a 4GB sized folder, and then decide to rename this folder, the program will perceive the original 4GB data as having been deleted and new 4GB data added to your backup set.


After uploading the new backup your quota usage would then have a total of 8GB.


If you add another 2GB to your 4GB folder, increasing the size to 6GB, the quota is increased by 2GB – giving a total of 10GB.


This is called differential backup. Currently it is not possible to delete backup set, but the oldest backup sets should automatically be deleted after 30 days, as the program only saves a 30 day backup history of your files.


Following the example above your 10GB quota would stay like that for 30 days, after which the initial 4GB would be deleted, and your quota would match the size of your current backup set.


.........................................................................................................................................................................................................

What happens if my backup or restore is interrupted?

 

If the backup or restore is interrupted (e.g. because you lose connection or if you turn off your computer while the process is running) the process will simply be resumed at the next given opportunity.


If the program loses connecting while doing a backup it will try to reconnect every 30 seconds.


Notice that if more than 48 hours passes before the process is resumed it will be regarded as cancelled; thus it will need to be restarted manually.


........................................................................................................................................................................................................

What happens if the user exceeds his quota?

 

If the user exceeds his maximum backup storage quota his account will simply be locked out, preventing the user from both creating new backups and restoring existing backups.


The program will display an error message informing the user of this.


The user can then decide to upgrade his account, delete the existing backups or in some cases it might be possible to simply wait until one of the older backup versions is deleted by the automatic backup rotation.

.......................................................................................................................................................................................................

What sort of encryption is used by the program?

 

The backup program uses two different kinds of encryptions during the backup process.


When the backup process is initiated the program will compress and encrypt the data locally, using a 256 bit AES encryption.


Next step is transferring the data to the backup server, which is done on a 128 bit AES encrypted connection. This means that the data double encrypted during the transferring process.

......................................................................................................................................................................................................


What is an encryption key?

 

The encryption key is a unique key, created the first time you log in . The key (a long string of numbers and letters) is used for encrypting your files before they are shipped to the backup server. Having this key ensures that the user is the only one who can decrypt and view the content of the user’s backup.


We strongly recommend that you save it either electronically to an external drive (outside your computer) or print it out and save it somewhere  because you will need that key if you ever have a computer failure and want to restore your files to a new computer.